Change Agent: Dr. Carolyn Mears

University of Denver – The Morgridge College of Education

Author of award-winning research into the aftermath of the Columbine shootings and other tragedies, Mears is internationally known for her work in support of communities, schools, and families devastated by traumatic events. The gateway approach, her innovative design for qualitative research, is widely used by researchers seeking to learn from the experiences of others.

“The Morgridge College of Education encourages original thinking and making a positive difference in the lives of others. First-rate faculty provide an intellectually stimulating environment and prepare students to make their work both meaningful and practical. I deeply appreciate MCE’s support of my efforts to transform research into practice that helps people reclaim their lives after experiencing trauma.”

Carolyn Mears

Dr. Mears is an honored contributor to – [dt]

New Essays Added is proud to provide new essays from different voices depicting the complexities of 21st Century interconnected socio-cultural-political issues that impact the quality of our lives, not only as citizens, but as human beings.

Current additions will appear first in the series of each Section.

Joy Harjo named U.S. poet laureate

Joy Harjo, award-winning poet, author, musician and a member of the Muscogee Creek Nation, has been named the 23rd U.S. poet laureate.

Harjo, 68, will represent both her Indigenous culture and those of the United States of America when she succeeds Tracy K. Smith as the country’s 23rd poet laureate consultant in poetry (that’s the official title) this fall. Her term, announced in June by Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden, will make her the first Native American poet to serve in the position.

Congratulations to Joy Harjo, an honored contributor to – [dt]

You can see Joy talk about her appointment at

See additional details at

Toni Morrison

“There is no time for despair,
no place for self-pity,
no need for silence, no room for fear.
We speak, we write, we do language.
That is how civilizations heal.”

“Toni Morrison was a national treasure, as good a storyteller, as captivating, in person as she was on the page. Her writing was a beautiful, meaningful challenge to our conscience and our moral imagination. What a gift to breathe the same air as her, if only for a while.”

President Barak Obama 2019

Parker J. Palmer

In 2010, Parker was given the William Rainey Harper Award whose previous recipients include Margaret Mead, Elie Wiesel, Marshall McLuhan, and Paolo Freire. In 2011, the Utne Reader named him one of 25 Visionaries on its annual list of “People Who are Changing the World.” In 2017, he received the Shalem Institute’s Contemplative Voices Award, given annually to an individual “who has made significant contributions to contemplative understanding, living and leadership.”

Congratulations to Parker, an honored contributor to – [dt]

Poetry Humanizes

By Martín Espada 

Poetry gives a human face to a time like this. 
Poetry gives eyes and mouth and a voice to a time like this.
Poetry records a time like this for future generations who want to know about a time like this in terms of the five senses, and in terms of the soul. 

Published on Diversity-Threads with permission from Martín Espada 2019

Martín Espada Awarded 2018 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize

The Poetry Foundation is pleased to announce the winner of the 2018 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, which honors a living US poet for outstanding lifetime achievement. Martín Espada is awarded the prize in recognition of his contribution to poetry. He is the first Latino poet to win this award since its inception in 1986.

Congratulations to Martin, an honored contributor to – [dt]